Our Local Governing Committee

Our Local Governing Committee meet twice each term to plan and monitor the continuing development and smooth running of the school. All governors work together to achieve what is in the best interests of the school community. Foundation governors are particularly charged with ensuring the maintenance of the school’s Catholic character and ethos. The fulfilment of statutory requirements placed on Local Governing Committees by successive governments makes up a significant part of their duties and include the admission of pupils; the appointment and employment of staff; the school’s curriculum and target-setting; health and safety; planning and monitoring the management and expenditure of a £1 million plus budget amongst others.

Below is a list of our Local Governing Committee members, together with some information about each member:

Fr. Paul Fox - Foundation Governor

Mrs. Amanda Pelham - Chair of Governors

I'm Amanda Pelham and have had the privilege of being connected with the school since my first child started back in 2005. I have been a governor for ten years and Chair of Governors for the past few years.

Outside of my role as a governor I work for Havens Hospices as a counsellor and lead a team of therapists and support workers providing much needed support to our patients and families. It is a very rewarding charity to work for and I meet amazing and inspiring people on a daily basis.

My children left OLOR some years back now and have gone on to the Brentwood Ursuline and St Thomas More and subsequently to Warwick University and an Engineering apprenticeship. I have been a great supporter of Catholic Education and feel very thankful that they have been able to have the wonderful education that our catholic schools have provided. I believe this has played a large part in shaping them into the young adults they have become and this is why I'm happy to continue to do what I can in my role as a governor of Our Lady of Ransom. There has always been such a sense of community within this school and it's a pleasure to be around such a hard working and dedicated team of staff and pupils.

Mr Paul Roseman - Vice Chair of Governors

Mrs Joanne Lloyd - Foundation Governor

I grew up in Hockley and was a pupil at Our Lady of Ransom between 1981 and 1987. After moving away from the parish in my early twenties, my husband, Justin, and I decided to settle back here soon after we got married in 2005.

Our children both attended Our Lady of Ransom - leaving in 2017 and 2020. I truly believe that the education they have received has given them the great start in life that it did me and countless others.

I became a Parent Governor in May 2013 and after one four-year term, transferred to a Foundation Governor. In 2017, I became Vice-Chair of the Governing Body and I am the link governor for Pupil Premium.

Aside from being a governor and a busy mum, I work in politics, managing the Westminster office of a Welsh Labour Member of Parliament.

Mrs. Anne Marie Chester - Foundation Governor

I am married to Adam and we have four children, three of whom have attended or still attend Our Lady of Ransom school. Our youngest is at pre-school but will, I hope, follow in his big brother’s and sisters’ footsteps in due time.

I was educated in Ireland and trained as a general nurse before coming to England and specialising in Oncology nursing.

I am a parishioner at Our Lady of Good Counsel Church, Wickford and am in my second term as a foundation governor. I am a member of both the Pupils & Personnel and Premises & Finance committees. I am linked to Year 3 and will follow this year group until they leave school.

Mrs Amanda Harman - Foundation Governor

My name is Amanda Harman and I am currently serving my third term as a Foundation Governor. I have been connected to the school since 2004 when my eldest started in Reception and although all three of my children have now moved on, I continue to be involved as a Governor. I am the governor responsible for Special Educational Needs.

I am a parishioner of Our Lady of Good Counsel Wickford and feel very fortunate to be able to serve as a governor at our wonderful school. I believe that the ethos and educational needs provided by our school are second to none. I am grateful that my children attended OLOR and believe that it has helped them to strive to achieve their best and given them a foundation for their future.

Mr. Eoin McHugh - Foundation Governor

As Assistant Headteacher, and Head of Sixth Form at the Palmer Catholic academy in Seven Kings, I value greatly the importance of Catholic education for the students and parents we serve in our local parishes.

I am from Ireland but England has been my home for over fifteen years and throughout my time in England I have taught in schools in Essex. My experience has ranged from Head of Department, Head of Year to senior leadership and Staff Governor. I have also taught Politics and History to A level.

I am a parishioner at Our Lady of Good Counsel in Wickford and I am honoured to serve as a Foundation Governor at Our Lady of Ransom, hoping that my experience of education will help me fulfil the important role of Foundation Governor.

My wife and I live in Runwell and we have two fantastic boys. Being parents and the first educators, we appreciate the importance of an outstanding education and in my role as governor, I hope that I can help ensure that this remains the diet at Our Lady of Ransom.

Mrs. Anne Randall - Staff Governor

I became a governor in 2019. I became a governor because I would like to be able to contribute to the strategic management and direction of the school. I have been a full time primary teacher since 1988. I joined the teaching staff at Our Lady of Ransom in 1999.

I am passionate about helping every child to achieve their full potential and love watching the smile on a child's face when they have succeeded in learning a new skill. In my spare time I enjoy walking in the countryside, cooking and fair weather gardening.

Mr. Paul Dulieu - Parent Governor

Mrs. Yasmin Udugba - Parent Governor